27
Jan
11

Preparing for the Climate Bomb

Suzanne Huskey's hedgehog sleeper cell

One of Suzanne Huskey’s “sleeper cells” looks like a petrified hedgehog on runners, but in fact it is a refuge for the environmental apocalypse or perhaps a dream house for the back-to-nature set. It has a door and two windows, and it proclaims a moderate right to privacy by means of those woody spines.

The other one has a loftier mien, looking like the bastard child of the Apollo 14 space capsule and a Jetson’s spaceship. Though it has a general air of waiting to lift off, the capsule has only got a few undersize casters by way of a power train.

And her Apollo Jetson capsule

Though they allude to the dreary cold war bomb shelters of an earlier age, the sleeper cells really are the funny, sunny alter egos to those earlier monuments to a crazed humanity. Every bit of these two shelters was salvaged from the discards streaming into the San Francisco transfer station, housewares included, during Huskey’s stint as artist in residence. Super bona fides, and perhaps also doubly useful in an age of endless foreclosures.

More about Huskey’s architectural ventures on her own website.

5 Responses to “Preparing for the Climate Bomb”


  1. 1 yalda
    February 22, 2011 at 4:17 pm

    Greetings. I am wondering if you have ever written about toxic waste? Kettleman City?

    If you have, please do email me. I am researching toxic waste in California.

  2. 2 Jennifer H.
    November 5, 2012 at 9:29 pm

    Thanks for all the information..I was doing research on people who use trash to make art and found your site. More people need to be aware and realize the problems we are facing and not ignore them or look the other way. Thanks for your honest and direct writing!

  3. June 30, 2014 at 10:06 am

    Greetings! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering which blog platform are you using for this site?

    I’m getting fed up of WordPress because I’ve had issues with hackers
    and I’m looking at alternatives for another platform. I would be
    fantastic if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

  4. August 3, 2014 at 10:06 pm

    After I initially commented I seem to have clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and
    now each time a comment is added I get 4 emails with the same comment.
    There has to be an easy method you can remove me from that service?
    Thanks a lot!

  5. August 15, 2014 at 8:19 pm

    Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as though you relied on the video to make your point.
    You clearly know what youre talking about, why waste
    your intelligence on just posting videos to your
    weblog when you could be giving us something enlightening to read?


Leave a Reply

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

